Halloween Is Approaching, But So Is The Bad Weather

18 Oct

As it’s nearly Halloween (12 days to go!), I decided that I want to knit a few decorations and toys this year. I went out and bought some white acrylic wool, which can also be used for my Christmas knits, and got searching for patterns online. I had been looking for a while when I came across a pattern for a Teru Teru Bozu (照る照る坊主、てるてる坊主), a Japanese doll which, according to the Japanese folk tale, brings good weather the next day when hung correctly by the window, and rain the next day when hung upside down by the window.

I love Japanese culture, and am currently learning Japanese, so decided to go ahead and knit it – it will be great for Halloween as well!

Here he is:

Thanks to Amigurumi Planet for this amazing pattern:

http://amigurumiplanet.blogspot.co.uk/2011/05/teru-teru-bozu-english.html

 

Have a nice weekend,
Goose

3 Responses to “Halloween Is Approaching, But So Is The Bad Weather”

  1. Mr. Puffy October 19, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    He’s so adorable!!! I’d hang him upside down because we need rain! Have a fun Halloween ~

  2. Jolina October 27, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    So cute!! Did it work?

    • Goose October 29, 2012 at 10:13 am #

      Thanks 🙂 I’ve left him out a few times facing outwards in the hope that it’ll be sunny and it worked in the majority of the tries. I’m hoping to take some autumn photos today so I hung him up yesterday evening and it hasn’t rained yet!

Comment

